PCC and Church Wardens


The Emmanuel PCC

The PCC is the “parochial church council” elected by people on the church’s electoral roll (which is the official Church of England membership list for each parish).  A certain proportion of the PCC is elected each year; other places are taken up by the minister, the church wardens and staff members (who are non-voting members).

The PCC are elected to “co-operate with the minister in promoting in the parish the whole mission of the church – pastoral, evangelistic, social and ecumenical” (The Parochial Church Council (Powers) Measure 1956, section 2).  At Emmanuel the PCC work on the big-picture vision of the church, along with more specific responsibilities relating to the maintenance and repair of the building, church finances and other things.

At Emmanuel, PCC elections take place each year at our Forward Focus meeting at the end of April.  These elections are then ratified the following day at the Annual Parochial Church Meeting (APCM) at Christ Church.  Elected members of the PCC serve for 3 years (unless they are filling a vacancy mid-term).

At the 2024 Forward Focus meeting, we will be looking to fill 3 vacancies on the PCC.

If you are interested in finding out more about serving on the Emmanuel PCC, please speak with our minister Bart Erlebach or Jen Manhire, PCC secretary.  You can also read the Letter to Prospective PCC Members below.

The current Emmanuel PCC are:  Bart Erlebach (Chair, and Ex-officio by virtue of being Minister), Jean Clayton, John Newell, Cara Rodger, David Speed-Andrews (Churchwarden), Steve Walden, Joanne and Robin (Churchwarden) Walpole and Andy Whelan.  Emmanuel’s 3 Deanery Synod members, who also sit on the PCC are Sue Gould, Amanda Kresinska, Colin Rodger.  Chris Bruce (Children & Youth Minister) and Jen Manhire (PCC Secretary and Church Administrator) attend PCC meetings as non-voting members.


Emmanuel Churchwardens

Churchwardens are elected by the people on church’s electoral roll to represent and lead the church family. Churchwardens are elected for a one year term of office and they may serve for up to six consecutive terms of office. Emmanuel elects two Churchwardens every year at the Forward Focus meeting at the end of April.  The Churchwardens work very closely with the Emmanuel minister and are jointly responsible for the day-to-day functioning of the church.

If you are interested in finding out more about serving as a Churchwarden at Emmanuel, please speak with our minister Bart Erlebach.